Open Studio Tour

Welcome, so what you see here may not be like most open studios currently, but it’s quite open at the moment. It’s a studio in progress, a studio in transition and in creation!

I will love my studio once it’s fully complete or to the slightest degree usable. My tree house, my room of one’s own, my escape to a little creative universe or hub of crafty goodness.

To begin, I have always wanted my own studio since forever. I have always been drawn to and good at art and crafty things,  it’s what I thrive on.  Luckily, I also married a carpenter who tends to have lots of tools and acquires  lumber and future studio findings through work, friends and wherever. It quite a frugal studio, the most we’ve put into it is a land  survey, in order to make a suddenly spirited neighbor be quiet. Now we’re continuing our building on weekends to hopefully complete it SOON…

I first planned on the studio to just be a creative space. I want to sew, spin, weave, do pottery, paint, collage, craft and design in a lovely space. I would like to use this space with my daughter (who is 7) to give us a place to create together, a sanctuary of sorts, somewhere creativity is invited. I live directly, on top of an elementary school which my daughter attends, so we see lots of kids and giveaway lots of juice boxes and band aids. I would love to be able to host a small after school program for kids to be creative but have in depth themes (as in depth as elementary will take them)- maybe a week of fiber arts, a week of pottery, a week of photography, or a week of creating hula hoops whatever that would entails a new avenue that steers them away from a piece of paper and a typical crayon, just a space to let something new be born, to find out what else lurks inside them that they may enjoy…because sometimes when you get the opportunity you can make magic and it sticks like glue for the rest of your life so you can hopefully pass it along…


Currently my sofa is my studio….this is where most of my crafting ventures take place and maybe the kitchen table as well. The sofa is especially nice for knitting! I find it’s a great portable craft especially when it can take my mind of of larger projects I want to do but don’t have the space for. My studio will be a place of lingering creativity where the day ends and you can just step away from your work, and the next day it waits quietly for you untouched, undisturbed and you can see it with fresh eyes, aaaahhh! We have a small house, well at least for someone who has lots of hobbies, storage can be quite a challenge so I hope to be organized  in the near future and have all my creative endeavors high on the hill behind me.

9 thoughts on “Open Studio Tour

  1. Oooh, what a fun, fun space you will have up there with the leaves and the birds and the soft, gentle breezes to inspire you! Thanks for sharing. Stop by my own virtual studio on the tour and we’ll have a virtual cup of tea!

  2. Wow! What a lovely space that will be. And I LOVE the idea of creating a creative space for kids. I’ve bookmarked your blog so I can come back to see the progress. Thanks for sharing!

  3. How lovely to anticipate such a great private space! It’s so great that you would like to extend your interests into sharing with kids. Thanks so much for the inspiration!
    Cheers
    Mary Anne

  4. Yours may indeed be the most ‘open’ of all the studios I’ve seen so far! I’m sending you my warm wishes that it can be finished SOON and you’ll be able to realize all your lovely dreams :- )

  5. WOW!!!!! THAT IS JUST A DREAM!!!!! A STUDIO IN THE TREES! Oh I can imagine how excited you are!!!!! Lucky you, enjoy moving in when the time comes!!!!!! Smiles, Anke ;)

  6. Pingback: Green Evolution « Jeckabee

  7. Pingback: Hope Your Valentines Day was LOVE-ly… « Jeckabee

Leave a Reply

