A Mid Summer’s OWL Complete!

Yay! I finished my OWLS sweater…It was a quick knit, just took me a bit to get it up here as a completed project. It’s summer, I’m slacking, and that’s great- as a new englander, you gotta enjoy this fantastic weather while one can!  There are a few things I would do differently next time on the OWLS though. Maybe try it as a cardigan, get rid of the decreases on the back and just make it a raglan style, as I like to hide a bit in my sweaters, I’m not a tight fitting sweater person. Overall, I love the color and it feels wonderful! It’s made with the EcoWool Cascade. It does tend to pill, but it hasn’t been to bad yet. We’ll see post-summer how the pilling continues.

As excited as I am to finish the OWLS, I can’t wait to start another big project for myself but can’t decide on which lovely cardigan to knit. I have some Arucania Atacama I’m not to crazy about. It’s a variegated green yarn and I’m not sure how it will turn out and haven’t been to impressed by what I’ve seen on Ravelry. I can’t remember why or where I purchased it but it must have been so cheap or free if I’m not all that excited about it…Maybe a February Lady, a Shalom, a Coraline or Trellis & Vine….decisions, decisions…

2 thoughts on “A Mid Summer’s OWL Complete!

  1. OMG can I ask where you found that pattern? My grandmother made me one of those just before she passed away when I was a kid and I’ve been mournful ever since I grew out of it fifteen years ago. Please, please, please, can you send a lead so I can find it and recreate it?

    Thanks! And cute sweater!

    • Hi! Thanks for your comment! One of the reasons I loved this sweater was that it reminded me of childhood, so I made one for my daughter as well. Here’s a link to the Blogger/Designer who created the pattern http://needled.wordpress.com/designs/ and you can also search in patterns for “OWLS” on ravelry.com and the pattern is there as well. Happy Knitting!

Leave a Reply

